Some perspectives on the impacts of covid-19

The contact restrictions because of Corona affect everyone very differently. We ourselves are pretty privileged, even if we’d like to get together physically for workshops. Meanwhile, people are suffering because of the unequal distribution of care work – @femm_hood just started a strike over this. Many are losing income or have rising costs. People are stuck in violent relationships. Disabled people who are cared for at home are overlooked (see @raulkrauthausen). Jews* face structural anti-Semitism and Holocaust denial. Asian-read people say: #iamnotavirus. In camps in Germany, refugees have to live close together under sometimes chaotic mass quarantine measures. Meanwhile, in the middle of the pandemic, mass deportations are underway (see @afgkulturhaus and @syrianotsafe !). And thousands of refugees are stuck in cold tents on the Greek islands (see @now_you_see_me_moria) or in Bosnia (see @balkanbruecke). What is being done for them? How many other particularly affected groups do we not have in mind?

And while, according to estimates, particularly contagious covid mutations could already account for a double-digit percentage of all new infections in Hanover, there are already discussions today about relaxations. The strategy of zero covid, also to shut down the economy more strongly for a short time, to cushion the consequences of the lockdown in solidarity and thus to be finished with the lockdown faster, is apparently not considered so far.

That’s the current situation from our point of view. Now to the pictures. A reflection of the first lockdown in March attempted the exhibition “My encounter with isolation” at @blauer_sand_leipzig. Bea Nielsen had searched for artistic works via an open call, especially in the east of Leipzig. A great combination of personal conversations, paintings, sculptures, photos and texts came together. We are present with pictures from “Dangerous Object: Eisenbahnstraße”.

You can see the whole exhibition online since a short time!

Say hello.

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Nicht lesbar? Text ändern. captcha txt

Einige Perspektiven auf die Folgen von Covid-19

Die Kontaktbeschränkungen wegen Corona betreffen alle sehr unterschiedlich. Wir selbst sind ziemlich privilegiert, auch wenn wir gerne für Workshops physisch zusammen kommen würden. Währenddessen leiden Menschen wegen der ungleichen Verteilung von Care-Arbeit – @femm_hood hat deswegen gerade einen Streik begonnen. Viele verlieren ihr Einkommen oder haben steigende Kosten. Menschen sitzen in gewaltvollen Beziehungen fest. Be_hinderte Menschen, die zuhause gepfegt werden, werden übersehen (s. @raulkrauthausen). Jüd*innen werden mit strukturellem Antisemitismus und Holocaustverleugnung konfrontiert. Asiatisch gelesene Menschen sagen: #iamnotavirus. In Lagern in Deutschland müssen geflüchtete Menschen eng zusammen leben unter teilweise chaotischen Massen-Quarantäne-Maßnahmen. Währenddessen laufen mitten in der Pandemie massenhaft Abschiebungen (s. @afgkulturhaus und @syrianotsafe !). Und tausende geflüchtete Menschen sitzen in kalten Zelten auf den griechischen Inseln (s. @now_you_see_me_moria) oder in Bosnien (s. @balkanbruecke) fest. Was wird für sie getan? Wie viele andere besonders betroffene Gruppen haben wir wohl nicht im Blick?

Und während nach Schätzungen besonders ansteckende Covid-Mutationen in Hannover schon einen zweistelligen Prozentsatz aller Neuinfektionen ausmachen könnten, wird heute schon über Lockerungen beraten. Die Strategie von zero covid, auch die Wirtschaft für eine kurze Zeit stärker herunterzufahren, die Folgen des Lockdowns solidarisch abzufedern und damit schneller mit dem Lockdown fertig zu sein, wird scheinbar bisher nicht in Erwägung gezogen.

Das zur aktuellen Lage aus unserer Sicht. Nun zu den Bildern. Eine Reflexion des ersten Lockdowns im März versuchte die Ausstellung „Meine Begegnung mit der Isolation“ im @blauer_sand_leipzig. Bea Nielsen hatte über einen Open Call vor allem im Leipziger Osten nach künstlerischen Arbeiten gesucht. Zusammengekommen ist eine tolle Kombi aus persönlichen Gesprächen, Malereien, Plastiken, Fotos und Texten. Wir sind mit Bildern aus »Gefährlicher Gegenstand: Eisenbahnstraße« dabei.

Die ganze Ausstellung könnt ihr seit kurzem online sehen!

Say hello.

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Nicht lesbar? Text ändern. captcha txt